//
you're reading...
Health, Thoughts

Would you want to be immortal?


Black coloured infinity sign in circle with tr...

Image via Wikipedia

The answer to this question would depend on how old you are… at least I think.

As a child, I never thought of death, it didn’t even occur to me. But should someone have asked me the question, “Would you want to live forever?” my answer would have been “Yes” without a doubt.

As an adult, I am not so sure.

Immortality has long been associated with Power. Often, while making big decisions, you may have heard people say, “You are not going to die, if you don’t like it/ don’t want it, you can always so no later..” or something to this effect.

Knowing that one wouldn’t die, would take away the fear of unknown and therefore, to some extent create the illusion of immense power. But is that right? Would we really be more powerful were we immortal? Or would we be doomed to depression?

Can you imagine a world where only people were born and no one died? What would become of people who were seriously old, or had terrible diseases, broken bones, and so on? Who would take care of them? How would they feel being dependent? And worse yet, would you want to be the only immortal being in your world? Not really, that means you would see the death of everyone you know, love and cherish. And one day you would be lonely wishing for respite.

So perhaps, no, immortality may not really classify as a boon. Not unless with it were eternal youth? Is that correct? That takes me back to my point, what would happen when you saw people you loved die? The recent movie “Curious Case of Benjamin Button” looks at this point a bit – when he becomes much younger than his wife. That would be horrible to live through wouldn’t it?

And then, isn’t life a journey? What would a journey be without a destination? As children, didn’t we all ask “Are we there yet?”

About Indian Pixie

A wannabe writer, a music lover, a geek, a dancer... and a voracious reader!! I don't really fit into any one category and find it really hard to define myself. Moved out of my comfort zone 2 years ago, and into the arm's of country on the other side of the world. Everything changed for me, from what I love doing most and my priorities, to the way I see myself. I am writing this blog, to document all of the crazy thoughts that come to mind, as I experience this amazing transition from my loved home country to another totally new and different country. Join me in experiencing the change.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

