//
you're reading...
Everyday, Thoughts

Do you believe in re-birth?


I do now!!

If you have been reading my blog for a while, you would have an idea that both my parents passed away within the last 12 months. My mother had been suffering from Hep C for about 5 years, and her death had come as a welcome relief to her. My father on the other hand, passed away from cancer. We found out too late to help him, and he began slipping soon after his surgery. The only thing we could think of – was, at least he did not suffer like my mother. And pretty much enjoyed his health till a couple of months before he passed away. He was now with her.

The question of re-birth comes from here – during the last few weeks before her death, my mother used to hallucinate as the doctors put it. And in her one such stage, she told my cousin, who was sitting with her at the hospital that she should go home and take care of her daughter. It so happens that at the time, my cousin wasn’t married and wasn’t even pregnant. So everyone told my mom, that my cousin doesn’t have a daughter to take care of, and she should not worry. But my mom kept insisting that my cousin has a beautiful baby girl and so on.

My cousin was due to be married soon, and my mom passed away a few weeks before her wedding. The interesting thing that happened was – my cousin discovered she was pregnant a couple of months after her wedding, with a due date being the same as my mother’s birthday!!

In India, they do not tell you the sex of the baby, and so we were not aware whether my cousin would have a boy or a girl. But all of us spent the entire 9 months of the pregnancy betting that my cousin would have a daughter. Today, her daughter was born!! And yes, she is exactly as described by my mother.

Now, I am not sure this would have made you believe – but all of us do believe, that my mother has been born again in my cousin’s daughter. Yes, we believe in rebirth!!

Love you Mom.

About Indian Pixie

A wannabe writer, a music lover, a geek, a dancer... and a voracious reader!! I don't really fit into any one category and find it really hard to define myself. Moved out of my comfort zone 2 years ago, and into the arm's of country on the other side of the world. Everything changed for me, from what I love doing most and my priorities, to the way I see myself. I am writing this blog, to document all of the crazy thoughts that come to mind, as I experience this amazing transition from my loved home country to another totally new and different country. Join me in experiencing the change.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Do you believe in re-birth? | Kids say : - October 18, 2011

Leave a Reply

