//
you're reading...
Everyday, Health, Thoughts

Do we love ourselves?


Love for Arts

Image via Wikipedia

We come across the concept of love very often – and mostly in the context of other people. We will tell our parents, spouses, children how much we love them. But how often do we consider love for ourselves.

What does love really mean? Do we know? Can we separate it from attachment? Need? Desire?

When you love your kids, you relate to this saying, you do what is best for them, in your judgment. Similarly, with parents, friends and your spouse. But when it comes to yourself – what do you do?

With respect to food at least, I have discovered I don’t often make the right decisions for me. I make the decisions that I desire, or want, which make not necessarily be right for me. For example, eating a chocolate or perhaps having that extra cup of tea.

Do you always take a step back and think about the decisions you make? With every little thing that you do? Whether it is eating more greens or walking the extra mile? Do you really love yourself?

I am still figuring out the answer to that – I always thought I loved myself. But when I look at some of the food choices I make, I am beginning to question it.

About Indian Pixie

A wannabe writer, a music lover, a geek, a dancer... and a voracious reader!! I don't really fit into any one category and find it really hard to define myself. Moved out of my comfort zone 2 years ago, and into the arm's of country on the other side of the world. Everything changed for me, from what I love doing most and my priorities, to the way I see myself. I am writing this blog, to document all of the crazy thoughts that come to mind, as I experience this amazing transition from my loved home country to another totally new and different country. Join me in experiencing the change.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Do we love ourselves?

  1. Never thought of it this way, very interesting and definitely puts a new perspective on my weight loss goals and ambitions! Great post!

    Posted by ucfknight46 | October 29, 2011, 4:10 pm
    • Thanks so much for your comment. Best of luck with your weight loss goals. BTW. I am reading a new book someone recommended, will be writing about it soon. Keep you posted 🙂

      Posted by Indian Pixie | October 30, 2011, 4:49 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Wow met my healthy goals!! « Musings of an Indian pixie - October 30, 2011

Leave a Reply

