//
you're reading...
Everyday, Health

Update: Eat to Live


Smoothie og kaffe

Image via Wikipedia

So, if you have been following my blog for the past couple of weeks, you would know that I have started reading a new book “Eat to Live“.

This book has been based on the concept of eating nutritious food and losing weight. We need to eat more nutrients per calorie and we will start losing weight. Further it goes on to tell you that most of the things you have learnt till date are incorrect. Some of them being:

  1. You need to eat meat for stocking up on protein
  2. You need to drink milk to get calcium
  3. A diet rich in protein is good for you
  4. Growing up tall and fast is good for children

I am still in the middle of the book, but its fascinating to see how the above can actually be wrong for us. We believe we are doing good for our bodies when we eat foods like chicken, dairy products, and so on. But according to the book that is actually bad for us.

Even with reading all of these facts, I am not totally convinced of leaving animal products. So I am taking things one step at a time. Will keep you posted for updates. But as you continue reading, check out my new recipe for a vegetable smoothie you will love (totally based on the concepts in the book!)

Vegetable smoothie with Sapota (recipe)

About Indian Pixie

A wannabe writer, a music lover, a geek, a dancer... and a voracious reader!! I don't really fit into any one category and find it really hard to define myself. Moved out of my comfort zone 2 years ago, and into the arm's of country on the other side of the world. Everything changed for me, from what I love doing most and my priorities, to the way I see myself. I am writing this blog, to document all of the crazy thoughts that come to mind, as I experience this amazing transition from my loved home country to another totally new and different country. Join me in experiencing the change.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Update: Eat to Live

  1. Thanks for the link! Like you, I’m not totally convinced that leaving animal products behind is right for me. But I do believe that we eat far too much of them. For now, rather than taking things out, I’m adding in the things that I know are good for me. If I ever miss my morning green smoothie I can feel a difference in my energy levels throughout the day.

    Posted by kimberlyjob | November 6, 2011, 8:04 pm

Leave a Reply

